You are here
Home > National News > 500 Fed Ministry Directors face ‘Compulsory Retirement’

500 Fed Ministry Directors face ‘Compulsory Retirement’

by Christiana Gokyo, Jos 

Over 500 Directors at the Federal Ministries would soon proceed on “compulsory retirement,” following the unveiling of the revised Public Service Rules.

The Head of the Civil Service, Dr. Folashade Yemi-Esan, has issued a circular to ensure compliance across the Ministries, Departments and Agencies. 

At a Public Service Lecture, held at the Presidential Villa in Abuja recently in commemoration of the Civil Service Week, Dr. Yemi-Esan said the implementation of the revised Public Service Rules has commenced.

According to him, the Revised Public Service Rules has in its provisions, tenure system for Permanent Secretaries who shall hold office for a term of four years and another renewable term, based only on satisfactory performance.

Also in the revised Rule, a “GL.17” Director or its equivalent, as may be prescribed by other MDA’s, shall compulsorily retire upon the attainment of eight years in that position.

Investigation revealed that, in the Federal Civil Service over 500 Directors on GL.17 have spent eight years in their positions and would be affected. This development will give more room for the Deputy Directors on GL.6 to rise to the next level.

The circular, dated July 27, 2023, called on Permanent Secretaries, Accountant-Generals of the Federation, Auditor-Generals for the Federation, and Heads of Extra-Ministerial Departments to ensure compliance.

Share from Conscience Triumph

Leave a Reply