You are here
Home > News > Bauchi Re-elects PDP’s Bala Muhammmad as Governor

Bauchi Re-elects PDP’s Bala Muhammmad as Governor

by Christiana Gokyo, Jos

The Bauchi State Governor, Bala Abdulkadir Muhammmad, of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) has been re-elected of Saturday’s governorship election, with 525,280 votes against his closest rival, Air Marshall Sadique Baba  Abubakar of the All Progressives Congress (APC), who polled 432,272 votes.

The governor won 15 out of the 20 local government areas of the state, which are Toro, Tafawa Balewa, Ningi, Alkaleri, Dass, Ganjuwa, Zaki, Shira, Dambam, Itas/Gadau, Warji, Bogoro, Jama’are, and Kirfi, while APC’s Abubakar won five LGAs of Katagum, Misau, Darazo, Gamawa and Giade.

Declaring the results by the Returning Officer of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) for Bauchi State, Prof. Abdulkarim Sabo Mohammed, he showed that the PDP won the election with a margin of 93,003 votes.

Professor Abdulkarim Sabo Mohammed, who is the Vice Chancellor, Federal University Dutse (FUD), Jigawa State, said there were 2,749,268 registered voters in the state.

According to him, 1,058,381 voters were accredited, while the total votes cast in Saturday’s poll were 1,049,600, adding that the total valid votes were 1,0343,79, while a total of 15,221 votes were rejected.

According to him, the New Nigeria People’s Party, NNPP, candidate, Senator Haliru Jika polled 60,496 to emerge the third in the contest.

Share from Conscience Triumph

Leave a Reply