You are here
Home > News > NAWOJ Minna elections pick Ladi Bala as National President

NAWOJ Minna elections pick Ladi Bala as National President

…Governor Fintiri congratulates new NAWOJ national leader.

by Christiana Gokyo, Jos

The governor of Adamawa State, Ahmadu Umaru Fintiri, has congratulated Ladi Bala over her victory at the just-concluded Nigeria Association of Women Journalists (NAWOJ) national elections in Minna, Niger state capital, over the weekend.

The governor, who saw Ladi through as elected National President of NAWOJ, noted that the female journalists have made the right choice.

Ladi Bala, who emerged as NAWOJ head, hails from Adamawa state, where she started her career with the state television, ATV Yola, before joining the NTA.

Rt. Hon. Ahmadu Umaru Fintiri describes Ladi’s victory as “Path-breaking, and a matter of immense pride not just to NAWOJ, but for all Adamawa citizens,” and congratulated her on her momentous victory.

The governor asserted that, “As No.1 citizen of Adamawa, I could not be prouder to congratulate the next National President,” adding that, he knows Ladi will do the job with the best interests of everyone, whether or not she had their votes.

Governor Fintiri said he was optimistic that Ladi will make a difference having served as Adamawa state Coordinator of the Union as well as two terms National Secretary, a position she held before emerging National President at the Minna National Delegates Congress.

While encouraging Nawojian’s to give Ladi a chance and lend her support, the governor said he is certain that NAWOJ is set for transformation and consolidation of achievements of the outgoing executive.

According to him, Ladi’s emergence is not just victory to her campaign team, but NAWOJ that would experience continuity in terms of standard and decorum in practice.

The governor also advised the President-elect to work towards “healing deep wounds,” noting that, many are counting on her to lead the way, and by voting in record numbers, NAWOJ has proved again that the unity of the association is strong.

The results of the just-concluded NAWOJ are: National President – Ladi Bala, 439, defeats Aisha Ibrahim, 251; Lucy Danjuma Chindaba, 85; and Ruth Abubakar, 48.

The Deputy National President is Lilian Okonkwo, who scored 431 to defeat Jumbo Idoko with 372 votes.

National Secretary, Helen Udofa, scored 547 to defeat Daharatu Ahmad Aliyu, who got 265 votes, while the National Treasurer went to Fatimah Rashid, who got 469 to defeat Nkechi Ogazi with 126 and Nwuka Okereke, with 216 votes.

The position National Internal Auditor went to Dorathy Abelegah, with 446 to defeat Chinwendu Nnadozie, 334, and the Zonal Vice President Zone C goes to Stella Igboka, who got 49 to defeat Chinaza Peculia John, with 42 votes.

Also, the Zonal Vice President Zone E went to Dorcas Philemon, who got 58 votes to defeat Aisha Tijjani, with 41, while the Zonal Secretary, Zone E, went to Tani Akas Samuel, with 67, to defeat Villian Vigour, who got 26 votes.

The position of Zonal Secretary, Zone D, went to Leah Thomas, who got 84 votes to defeat Joy Idah, with 76, and the position of Zonal Secretary, Zone C, went to Tina Ikwegbu, with 46 votes to defeat Ngozi Mba, who had 45 votes.

Share from Conscience Triumph

Leave a Reply